PhD students Wanghao Fei and Jonathan Devadason have each received OU Gallogly College of Engineering Dissertation of Excellence Awards. The award recognizes PhD students who have achieved outstanding research results while encouraging them to complete their dissertations with excellence.

Wanghao’s dissertation is focused on new power system protection algorithms geared towards improved fault identification for distribution feeders with high penetration of volatile renewable energy sources. Wanghao also received the Farrar Endowment scholarship because of his outstanding research.

Jonathan’s dissertation is researching new wind farm stability disturbances and their mitigation in weak power grids. He also received the P.H. Robinson Fellowship and William H. Barkov Scholarship for his high quality research outcomes.